Maurice Stubnitz Award Recipients


2021 Stubnitz Award Recipients – Lois and Graham Fleming

Lois and Graham Fleming are the 2021 recipients of the Stubnitz Award. The Stubnitz Award is presented annually to a person or couple demonstrating exemplary commitment to Lenawee Cares, our community, and volunteerism in Lenawee. The award is named in memory of Lenawee’s philanthropist and businessman, Maurice Stubnitz. The Flemings are long-time residents of Lenawee County having moved here in 1963. Lois was an elementary school principal in the Tecumseh Public School System and Graham was an engineer for Wacker Chemical Company both retiring over 30 years ago. Lois and Graham are lifelong volunteers in our community. They have dedicated themselves to making Tecumseh and Lenawee County a better place to live, grow, and work. They have volunteered with the Tecumseh District Library, they help Santa through the Tecumseh Service Club, the TCA, Red Cross, SCORE, and the Lenawee Community Foundation. They are business and educator mentors, lead bike tours, and would donate fresh produce that they grew on their farm. Lois and Graham value humor, family, friendships, being active, community, sharing, and hard work. They set goals, stay focused and share what they have with others. Fleming’s philosophy: we are all in the same boat – those that can need to care for the old, those who are hungry, and in need. They believe in paying it forward and do so in many ways.

The Stubnitz Award is presented annually to a person demonstrating exemplary commitment to Lenawee County and the cause for volunteerism in the Lenawee community. The award is named in memory of Lenawee philanthropist and businessman, Maurice Stubnitz.

Previous Recipients:

1981 Leroy Younglove
1982 Grace Miley
1983 Ken Gonser
1984 Rev. Herbert Cottrell
1985 Howard White
1986 Dr. James Watson / Joseph Wagley, Jr.
1987 Madeline Hikes
1988 Robert Parish
1989 Shelley Hickman
1990 Russell Roback
1991 Frank Dick
1992 David Maxwell
1993 Cathleen Real
1994 Mary Kilgore Vallad

1995 Tom & Michalene Fenstemacher
1996 Garry Clift
1997 Bruce & Sue Goldsen
1998 Ceal Schwartz
1999 Laura Schaedler
2000 Gary Owen
2001 Sam & Kathy Engardio
2002 Joy Smith
2003 John Robertstad
2004 John Wanke
2005 Gerry Burg
2006 Mike Wade
2007 Bill Kenyon
2008 Art Weeber

2009 Tom & Christine MacNaughton
2010 Allan F. Brittain
2011 Burt Fenby
2012 Joseph R. Williams
2013 Mark & Mary Murray
2014 Lad Strayer
2015 Janelle Stewart
2016 Nate Smith
2017 Londa Pickles
2018 Jim Hartley
2019 Janis Montalvo
2020 Doug Gray
2021 Lois and Graham Fleming